Thursday, March 16, 2017

Letter in support of John R. Holcomb for TMA Board of Trustees

March 14, 2017
Dear colleague:

BCMS proudly supports John R. Holcomb, MD for TMA Board of Trustees

The Bexar County Medical Society and the Bexar Delegation to the Texas Medical Association announce the candidacy of John R. Holcomb, MD, for TMA Board of Trustees.

Dr. Holcomb has been a member of the Bexar County Medical Society (BCMS) and Texas Medical Association (TMA) since 1982, the year he began private practice in Pulmonary/Critical Care in San Antonio. A graduate of Texas A&M University and Southwestern Medical School, Dr. Holcomb trained in Internal Medicine and Pulmonary Medicine/Critical Care at the University of California Hospitals and the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio. In addition, Dr. Holcomb is a retired U.S. Army Colonel, having served with 1st Special Forces Group, Academy of Health Sciences, Brooke Army Medical Center, 114th Evacuation Hospital, 90th Army Reserve Command, and U.S. Army Hospital, Kosovo.

An active member in organized medicine, Dr. Holcomb served as Bexar County Medical Society President in 1993. He has previously served on numerous committees at BCMS and currently sits on the Society’s Legislative and Socioeconomics Committee. Dr. Holcomb has served on the BCMS Board of Directors for 3 years and presently holds the position of Treasurer. He has been a delegate to the TMA since 2007. Dr. Holcomb has had extensive service at the TMA level, serving 9 years on the Council on Socioeconomics and 15 years as Chair of the Select Committee on Medicaid, CHIP and Access to Care. He has also held numerous ad hoc committee assignments and has frequently testified before the Legislature on behalf of TMA and affiliate organizations.

Dr. Holcomb has also previously held board assignments in the community, including the Texas Society of Internal Medicine, Texas Hospital Association, Methodist Healthcare System, and Methodist Hospital Physician Alliance.
Presently, he serves on the Board of Texas Medical Liability Trust and as Chair of BexarPac, a political action committee with a focus on judicial races in Bexar County.

We respectfully request your support of Dr. Holcomb for TMA Board of Trustees at TexMed in May.

Leah H. Jacobson, MD
BCMS President

Jayesh Shah, MD
BCMS Past President

William (Bill) Hinchey, MD
TMA Past President

Jesse Moss Jr., MD
BCMS Past President

James L. (Jim) Humphreys, MD
TMA Council on Legislation

Gerald Greenfield, MD
BCMS Board Secretary
Alex Kenton, MD
Chair, BCMS Legislative Committee

K. Ashok Kumar, MD
TMA Board of Councilors

David N. Henkes, MD
TMA Board of Trustees

Advocating for physicians, patients, and our community since 1853.
PO Box 781145 • Zip 78278 • 4334 N Loop 1604 W, Ste 200 • San Antonio, TX 78249-3485 • (210) 301-4391 •